Connect with us

Oklahoma Sooners

Sooners Start Season in Lubbock

NORMAN — The Oklahoma track and field teams kick off their 2019 indoor campaign on Saturday at the second annual Corky Classic in Lubbock, Texas.

The meet, hosted by Texas Tech, is scheduled to begin at 11 a.m. CT with the women’s shot put. A total of 52 Sooners (26 women, 26 men) are slated to compete. 

“We’re extremely excited to get going,” said OU head coach Jim VanHootegem. “The thing we are looking for out of the team, not saying someone won’t set a new personal record at this meet, but you don’t want anybody to have their season-best mark at the first meet. However, I think we want to approach the meet the same way we approach an NCAA Championships or Big 12 Championship. We want to go out and have that kind of intention and intensity.” 

OU returns two NCAA Indoor qualifiers from last year for the 2019 indoor season in sophomores Papay Glaywulu (triple jump) and Evette Blanks (4×400-meter relay). The team also brings back two indoor Big 12 champions in 1,000-meter champion Calvin Miller and 60-meter hurdles champ Bryce Douglas. 

“This will give us a good first look at the things we’ve worked on in the fall and what’s working well and what needs improvement,” said VanHootegem.

“Individual-wise, we lost a lot of women that carried a pretty heavy load for the team the last two years. Those last two classes were pretty legendary, if you will. So I’m excited to see who steps up as new leaders on the team in those positions like a Jess Woodard, Ama Pipi or Daye Shon Roberson, has filled in the past.

“It’s a pretty exciting time on the men’s side, we had a really nice freshmen class last year and we brought in some really great student-athletes again this year. I’m excited to see how they go out and compete.”

Saturday’s meet marks the OU debut for several Sooners, including over 20 members of the 2017-18 recruiting class.

Live results from the Corky Classic will be available through PTTiming. A live stream will be available on a subscription basis through FloTrack and final results can be found on following the meet.

Saturday, Jan. 12 
Live Results: 
Prime Time Timing
Heat Sheets: 
Venue: Sports Performance Center; Lubbock, Texas  
Field: Garden City, Houston, Texas Tech, UTEP

The Sooners host their first indoor meet of the season with the Sooner Challenge quad meet next Saturday, Jan. 19, inside the Mosier Indoor Facility. The action will begin with the women’s weight throw at 10 a.m. and admission is free. 

For more information on Oklahoma track and field, follow the Sooners on Twitter and Instagram (@OU_Track) and like Oklahoma Sooners Track & Field and Cross Country on Facebook.

Corky Classic Schedule
Saturday, Jan. 12
Time Event – Sooners
11 a.m. Women’s Shot Put – Meia Gordon, Faith Ette, Lauren Jones
Noon Women’s Pole Vault – Abby Bilsbury, Colleen Clancy, Gabby Carson, Sydney King, Meagan Gray, Mackenzie Shell

Men’s Shot Put – Cooper Campbell, Brad Daboub
1 p.m. Women’s Triple Jump – Allanah Lee, Essence Thomas

Men’s Triple Jump – Garry Williams, Marcus Mitchell
1:10 p.m. Men’s Mile Run – Luke George, Heath Warren, Derek King, Brendan Taylor, Zach Gentry, Jacob Janzen 
1:30 p.m. Men’s 600 Yard Run – Isaiah Levingston
2 p.m. Women’s 60-Meter Hurdles – Camri Austin, Madison Langley-Walker, Mahendra McWhite
2:10 p.m. Men’s 60-Meter Hurdles – Bryce Douglas, Kristo Simulask
2:20 p.m. Women’s 400-Meter Dash – Myah Bowen
2:40 p.m. Women’s 60-Meter Dash – Amanda Van Buren, Kennedy Blackmon, Ja’Leesa Giles, Camri Austin, Alexis Barnes, Sydney Dillard, Hailey Patterson, Jai’Lyn Merriweather
2:50 p.m. Men’s 60-Meter Dash – Quoi Ellis, Jackson Webb, Joseph Sheffield, Xavier Brown, Bryce Douglas, Kristo Simulask
3 p.m. Women’s Long Jump – Hailey Patterson, Symone Washington, Madison Langley-Walker

Men’s Long Jump – Langdon Williams, Golden Eke, Greg Vann

Women’s Weight Throw – Camille Burge, Lauren Jones
3:05 p.m. Men’s 1,000-Meter Run – Tucker Desko, Ackeen Colley, Calvin Miller
3:10 p.m. Women’s 200-Meter Dash – Sydney Dillard, Amanda Van Buren, Ja’Leesa Giles, Dai’Lyn Merriweather, Mahendra McWhite, Myah Bowen, Alexis Barnes
3:20 p.m. Men’s 200-Meter Dash – Quoi Ellis, Joseph Sheffield, Jackson Webb, Xavier Brown
3:30 p.m. Women’s High Jump – Falyn Reaugh
4:15 p.m. Women’s 4×400-Meter Relay – Kennedy Blackmon, Dai’Lyn Merriweather, Jai’Lyn Merriweather, Ja’Leesa Giles, Myah Bowen, Madison Langley-Walker
4:35 p.m. Men’s 4×400-Meter Relay – Zac Tucker, Zac Martin, Caleb Johnson, Isaiah Levingston

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Oklahoma Sooners