Connect with us

Oklahoma Sooners

Murray Named Walter Camp Award Semifinalist

NORMAN — Oklahoma junior quarterback Kyler Murray was named one of 15 semifinalists for the 2018 Walter Camp Player of the Year award Wednesday.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year is voted on by the 130 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors. A list of five finalists will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 28, and the winner broadcast live on ESPN SportsCenter on Thursday, Dec. 7.

Through 10 games, Murray leads the nation in passing efficiency rating (212.9; the NCAA single-season record of 198.9 was set by Baker Mayfield last year), yards per pass attempt (12.3) and yards per completion (17.4), and ranks second in points responsible for per game (23.4; first among Power Five players), third in total offense per game (367.8 yards) and completion percentage (.709), and fourth in passing touchdowns per game (3.2). He is the only player in the country averaging at least 250.0 passing yards (303.8) and at least 50.0 rushing yards (64.0) per game.

Murray has thrown at least two touchdown passes in all but one game this year, and has thrown at least three TD passes in eight of 10 contests. He had his school- and Big 12-record streak of eight games with at least three touchdown passes snapped against Oklahoma State on Saturday, but still has 21 TD passes over the last six games. He has also rushed for 640 yards (64.0 per game; 6.7 per carry) and seven touchdowns on the year.

In Big 12 play, Murray owns healthy statistical leads in total offense at 405.0 yards per game (next most is 329.7 by OSU’s Taylor Cornelius), passing yards at 336.9 per contest (next most is 314.3 by West Virginia’s Will Grier), passing efficiency rating with his 216.6 mark (next best is 168.5 by Grier), and in total TDs with 28 (next most is 23 by Grier).

Only nine times since the start of the Big 12 Conference in 1996 has a Sooner thrown for at least 300 yards and rushed for at least 65 in a game, and Murray has done it on five occasions this season.

The 2018 Player of the Year will be recognized along with the Walter Camp All-America team at the Foundation’s national awards dinner on Saturday, Jan. 12, 2019, at Yale University’s Lanman Center.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. A former Yale University athlete and football coach, Camp is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to 11 men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and continue the tradition of selecting an annual All-America team.

2018 Walter Camp Player of the Year Semifinalists
Josh Allen, Senior, Linebacker, Kentucky
Deandre Baker, Senior, Defensive Back, Georgia
Devin Bush, Junior, Linebacker, Michigan
Travis Etienne, Sophomore, Running Back, Clemson
Will Grier, Senior, Quarterback, West Virginia
Dwayne Haskins, Junior, Quarterback, Ohio State
Darrell Henderson, Junior, Running Back, Memphis
Trace McSorley, Senior, Quarterback, Penn State
McKenzie Milton, Junior, Quarterback, UCF
Gardner Minshew, Senior, Quarterback, Washington State
Kyler Murray, Junior, Quarterback, Oklahoma
Tua Tagovailoa, Sophomore, Quarterback,
Alabama Jonathan Taylor, Sophomore, Running Back, Wisconsin
Jerry Tillery, Senior, Defensive Tackle, Notre Dame
Quinnen Williams, Sophomore, Nose Guard, Alabama

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Oklahoma Sooners