Connect with us

Oklahoma Sooners

League-High 12 Sooners Earn All-Big 12 Honors

NORMAN — Head coach Lincoln Riley, quarterback Kyler Murray, kicker Austin Seibert and offensive lineman Dru Samia each claimed individual honors, and Oklahoma tallied a league-high 11 All-Big 12 First- or Second Team selections (seven on the first team), as the conference announced its football awards Wednesday. Selections were made by the league’s coaches, who were not permitted to vote for their own players.

Murray was named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year, the fourth consecutive such award for the Sooners and eighth overall. Seibert was voted the Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Year, Samia was selected as one of three Big 12 Offensive Linemen of the Year and Riley was named the Big 12 Co-Coach of the Year. OU has won 43 individual awards, the most in the 22-year history of the Big 12 Conference (Kansas State is second with 33).

Riley, in his second year as head coach, owns the program record with 23 wins in his first two seasons, surpassing the previous standard of 21 set by Barry Switzer in 1973 and 1974. After a 12-2 debut season, he has led the Sooners this year to an 11-1 mark and a spot in the Big 12 Championship Game. He shared the coach-of-the-year award with Iowa State’s Matt Campbell.

Murray, who was a unanimous All-Big 12 First Team selection, joins Baker Mayfield (2015 and 2017), Dede Westbrook (2016), Sam Bradford (2008), Jason White (2003 and 2004) and Josh Heupel (2000) as OU winners of the league’s top offensive player honor.

The redshirt junior from Allen, Texas, leads the nation in yards per pass attempt (12.0) and per completion (17.0), while ranking second in total touchdowns (48), passing TDs (37), passing efficiency rating (206.8; higher than the NCAA single-season record of 198.9), points responsible for per game (24.0; leads Power Five players) and total offense (377.3 ypg; didn’t play in second half vs. Florida Atlantic or final 23:20 vs. Kansas State; OU only ran 40 plays vs. Army).

Murray is the only player to ever average at least 300.0 passing yards (306.2) and at least 60 rushing yards (71.1) through college football’s regular season.

A senior, Seibert is Oklahoma’s first Big 12 Special Teams Player of the Year. OU’s and the Big 12’s career scoring record holder with 476 points, the Belleville, Ill., native ranks third in NCAA career scoring among kickers. He also holds the NCAA record for career extra-points made (302) and attempts (307). This season, Seibert leads the Big 12 in points (115) and is 12 of 14 on field goal attempts and 79 of 80 on PATs.

Samia claimed OU’s third straight Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year honor, joining Orlando Brown from 2016 and 2017. From Sacramento, Calif., the senior right guard has started 46 games (the OU record is 50) and is joined on the All-Big 12 First Team by OU senior left guard Ben Powers and redshirt junior right tackle Cody Ford. Together with All-Big 12 Second Team selection Bobby Evans, the OU road graders have paved the way for a running game that leads the nation at 7.0 yards per rush and guarded a passing game that ranks second by averaging 11.6 yards per pass attempt. The Sooners average a would-be FBS-record 8.9 yards per play, have totaled 300 passing yards and 300 rushing yards in a game five times this season (all other Power Five teams have combined for three such performances) and are the only team in the country with at least 30 rushing touchdowns (39) and at least 30 passing TDs (38).

Oklahoma’s seven first-team selections, all on offense, were the most of any Big 12 school. With two more honorees on the second-team offense and one on the second-team defense, OU boasts a league-high 11 first- or second-team all-conference players. West Virginia was second with eight overall honorees, followed by Iowa State and Texas with seven, Kansas and TCU with six and Oklahoma State with five. Texas Tech had four and Baylor and Kansas State each had three honorees.

OU wide receiver Marquise Brown and tight end Grant Calcaterra earned their first All-Big 12 First Team honors. Brown, a junior from Hollywood, Fla., leads the Sooners with 70 catches for 1,264 yards and 10 touchdowns, averaging 18.1 yards per catch and 105.3 receiving yards per game. He has six 100-yard receiving games and a nation-leading seven catches of at least 50 yards this season. Calcaterra, a sophomore from Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif., has had a breakout season, registering 22 catches for 340 yards (15.5 average) and four touchdowns.

Redshirt senior fullback Carson Meier, sophomore kick returner Tre Brown and sophomore linebacker Kenneth Murray earned All-Big 12 Second Team honors. A Tulsa, Okla. native, Meier is in his first season as a regular starter for the Sooners and has amassed 269 receiving yards and four touchdowns on 15 receptions (17.9 average). Brown, also from Tulsa, ranks third in the conference by averaging 23.8 yards per kickoff return, and registered a career-long 86-yard return against UCLA. He also garnered honorable mention acclaim as a defensive back.

Kenneth Murray has started all 12 games at middle linebacker and leads the Sooners with 133 total tackles, OU’s highest single-season total in 10 years. He has also registered 11.5 tackles for loss and 4.0 sacks, along with three QB hurries and a pair of pass breakups. He has tallied double-digit tackles in eight games this season, all in the last 10 outings, and averages 12.1 stops per contest in the last 11 contests. His 28 tackles against Army were the most by an FBS player since at least 2000 (when the NCAA began tracking the record).

Several Sooners also earned honorable mention recognition at their respective positions: senior linebacker Curtis Bolton, Seibert (punter), redshirt junior defensive end Kenneth Mann, redshirt junior defensive tackle Neville Gallimore, junior defensive end Amani Bledsoe, junior defensive back Parnell Motley, sophomore wide receiver CeeDee Lamb, sophomore running back Trey Sermon, redshirt freshman running back Kennedy Brooks and redshirt freshman offensive lineman Creed Humphrey. Kenneth Murray also received at least one vote for Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year.

Oklahoma has placed at least four players on the All-Big 12 First Team every season since 2000, and has boasted at least one all-conference player every season since 1926 (92 years). OU has only had one season when playing in a conference without first-team honors (1925), marking 102 of 103 seasons.

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Oklahoma Sooners