Connect with us

Oklahoma Sooners

Kyler Murray A Semifinalist for Campbell Award

NORMAN – Adding to the list of his postseason awards candidacies, University of Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray has been named a semifinalist for the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award.


Murray, a finalist for the Maxwell Award and Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, ranks second nationally in passing efficiency (205.8), yards per pass attempt (11.9), yards per pass completion (16.9), points responsible for per game (24.0) and total touchdowns (44). He also ranks third nationally in total offense per game (368.1 yards), fifth in passing touchdowns per game (3.1) and sixth in completion percentage (.703).


The Allen, Texas, native has thrown at least two touchdown passes in all but one game this season and threw at least three TD passes for a school- and Big 12-record eight straight contests. A redshirt junior, Murray engineers an Oklahoma offense that averages an FBS-best 0.73 points per offensive play and 3.87 points per offensive possession, and has scored at least 45 points in each of the last seven games, tied for the longest streak in program history.


On Nov. 3 at Texas Tech, Murray became the first player in OU history to throw for at least 300 yards (360) and rush for at least 100 yards (100) in a game. He has surpassed 300 passing yards seven times this season. In OU’s 66-33 win over Baylor on Sept. 29, completed 17 of 21 passes for 432 yards and six touchdowns while adding 45 rushing yards and a score. His 348.0 passing efficiency rating, 20.6 yards per pass attempt and 25.4 yards per completion set school and Big 12 records.


Named after 1977 Heisman Trophy winner Earl Campbell, the award recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals. In addition, winners must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four-year college.


The fan vote for the semifinalists is open, and fans can vote for their candidate up to once per day at The finalists will be announced Dec. 5, and the winner will be announced at an award banquet in Tyler, Texas, on Jan. 9.


Former OU quarterback Baker Mayfield won the 2017 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award, which was established in 2013. The Sooners have produced at least one finalist each year since 2014: Samaje Perine in 2014, Dede Westbrook in 2016, and Mayfield each year from 2015-17.

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Oklahoma Sooners