Connect with us

Oklahoma Sooners

Kyler Murray a Finalist for Walter Camp Award

NORMAN — Oklahoma junior quarterback Kyler Murray was named one of five finalists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year award, the Walter Camp foundation announced Wednesday.

Murray, already a finalist for the Maxwell Award and the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, is now a finalist for three major national awards so far this season. He is joined on the list of Walter Camp finalists by Kentucky linebacker Josh Allen, West Virginia quarterback Will Grier, Washington State quarterback Gardner Minshew and Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa.

Today named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year, Murray leads the nation in yards per pass attempt (12.0) and per completion (17.0), while ranking second in total touchdowns (48), passing TDs (37), passing efficiency rating (206.8; higher than the NCAA single-season record of 198.9), points responsible for per game (24.0; leads Power Five players) and total offense (377.3 ypg; didn’t play in second half vs. Florida Atlantic or final 23:20 vs. Kansas State; OU only ran 40 plays vs. Army).

The Allen, Texas, product is the only player to ever average at least 300.0 passing yards (306.2) and at least 60 rushing yards (71.1) through college football’s regular season. He has thrown multiple touchdowns in 11 games this season, and threw for three touchdowns in nine contests, including a school- and Big 12-record streak of eight outings. On two occasions this year he has passed for 300 yards and rushed for 100 yards in the same game, and is the only Sooner to ever do so once.

Murray engineers an Oklahoma offense that averages a would-be FBS-record 8.9 yards per play, has totaled at least 300 passing yards and 300 rushing yards in a game five times this season (all other Power Five teams have combined for three such performances) and is the only team in the country with at least 30 rushing touchdowns (39) and at least 30 passing TDs (38). He was named the Walter Camp FBS Offensive Player of the Week on Sept. 9 after passing for 306 yards and three touchdowns and rushing for 69 yards and two scores against UCLA.

Former OU quarterback Baker Mayfield was the 2017 Walter Camp Player of the Year, joining former Sooners Josh Heupel (2000), Billy Sims (1978), Steve Owens (1969) and Jerry Tubbs (1956) as winners of the prestigious award.

The 2018 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, who is voted on by the 130 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 6, during the 5 p.m. CT edition of ESPN SportsCenter. The 2018 Player of the Year will be recognized along with the Walter Camp All-America Team at the Foundation’s national awards dinner on Saturday, Jan. 12, at Yale University’s Lanman Center.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. A former Yale University athlete and football coach, Camp is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries, and the restriction of play to 11 men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and continue the tradition of selecting an annual All-America team.

2018 Walter Camp Player of the Year Finalists
Josh Allen, Senior, Linebacker, Kentucky
Will Grier, Senior, Quarterback, West Virginia
Gardner Minshew, Senior, Quarterback, Washington State
Kyler Murray, Junior, Quarterback, Oklahoma
Tua Tagovailoa, Sophomore, Quarterback, Alabama


Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Oklahoma Sooners