Connect with us

Oklahoma Sooners

Four Sooners mane AFCA All-America Team

The American Football Coaches Association has named four Oklahoma football players to its 2018 All-America Team.

Offensive guard Ben Powers is the only Sooner to earn first-team honors on the AFCA All-America Team. Quarterback Kyler Murray, wide receiver Marquise Brown and fellow offensive lineman Dru Samia were second-team selections.

The pendulum continues to swing back and forth regarding the first-team quarterback on the various All-America teams. The AFCA selected Tua Tagovailoa of Alabama as the first-team choice on its All-America Team, along with four of his Crimson Tide teammates. Three more Alabama players were named to the second team. The eight total for Alabama led all schools.

The runner-up to Murray in a very close 2018 Heisman Trophy vote, Tagovailoa was the first-team selection on the Walter Camp Foundation All-America Team and also winner of the Maxwell Award and the Sporting News and Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.

Murray, the Associated Press Player of the Year, the Davey O’Brien Award honoree, is the first-team quarterback on this season’s Football Writers Association of America and AP All-America teams.

Since the debut of the AFCA All-America Team in 1945, Alabama has the highest representation of any team, with 77 players being named to the first or second team a total of 82 times. The next closest team, according to, which covers Alabama athletics for the Tuscaloosa News, is Oklahoma with 70 appearances by 61 different players.

That’s particularly interesting in light of the fact that Oklahoma and Alabama, Murray and Tagovailoa, et al., will face each other in a College Football Playoff semifinal in the Orange Bowl on Dec. 29.


Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Oklahoma Sooners